Jennifer Laaser to be Among Participants of the 2017 CSC New Faculty Workshop

  • By Aude Marjolin
  • 24 May 2017

Jennifer Laaser has been selected to participate in the Cottrell Scholars Collaborative (CSC) New Faculty Workshop that will take place in Washington, DC in the ACS National Offices on August 3- 5, 2017.

The CSC, in partnership with the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) and the American Chemical Society, is implementing a New Faculty Workshop program to improve the penetration of research-validated pedagogies in chemistry departments around the country.

This program is designed to aid newly-hired faculty in the Chemical and Physical Sciences at research intensive universities to develop strong research and teaching programs. The workshop will focus on effective time management, new teaching practices, and integrating teaching and research.

The Cottrell Scholars Collaborative (CSC) is a collection of chemistry and physics faculty who are past recipients of the Cottrell Scholars Award, a distinction given out by Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) to faculty demonstrating excellence in both the classroom and the laboratory. The mission of the CSC is to “develop, promote and implement transformative programs to improve STEM education through the integration of research and teaching.”