Peyman Givi Wins 2022 CMU Alumni Achievement Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 27 September 2022

Congratulations to Peyman Givi, who recently won a 2022 Alumni Achievement Award from CMU!

CMU Alumni News stated, "While Peyman Givi’s work may be highly theoretical, his impact on his field, his students and his community are far from it.

A modern-day rocket scientist, Peyman is widely recognized as a world leader for his work in computational simulation and mathematical modeling of reactive systems of importance in propulsion. He is equally lauded...

Profs. Jennifer Laaser and Sean Garrett-Roe receive grant to develop new clean energy technologies

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 20 September 2022

A research team led by Profs. Jennifer Laaser and Sean Garrett-Roe from the Department of Chemistry and Prof. Clyde Daly from Haverford College have received an award from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to develop novel materials for carbon dioxide separation. The grant, titled “Mechanism of CO2 capture in ionic liquid composite materials,” was funded as part of the DOE’s...

Kevin Chen and Paul Ohondicki Win 2022 R&D 100 Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 29 August 2022

NuSense Technology — High Spatial Resolution Optical Sensors for Harsh Environments, an innovation developed through a collaboration between the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering with the U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Lab (NETL) as co-developer, was one of the recipients of the prestigious 2022 R&D 100 Award from R&D Magazine...

Chandralekha Singh Invited for Two Presentations at the 100th Birthday of International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 29 August 2022

Chandralekha Singh, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Director of the Discipline-Based Science Education Research Center (dB-SERC), was invited to present at the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Centennial Symposium at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy in two different sessions that focused on Physics Education for the 21st Century and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Physics. The mission of IUPAP that celebrated its 100th birthday at the Centennial Symposium in Trieste is to assist in the worldwide development of physics and foster international cooperation in physics.

Dr. Hrvoje Petek Named Distinguished Scientist by the Chinese Academy of Sciences

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 19 July 2022

Congratulations to Hrvoje Petek, who has been named a Distinguished Scientist of the Chinese Academy of Sciences through its President’s International Fellowship Initiative!

The CAS President’s International Fellowship Initiative, PIFI, is a specific funding program to attract talented foreigners to CAS for scientific exchanges and research cooperation. It is open to scientific research personnel from around the globe, of the following seven types: Distinguished Scientists, Visiting Scientists, Postdoctoral Researchers, Special Experts, Young Staff, PHD Students, Master Students.

New Pittsburgh Quantum Institute (PQI) Director Named

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 18 July 2022

Last month, the founding director of PQI, Jeremy Levy, stepped down from the position.  PQI was founded in 2012 with the mission “to help unify and promote quantum science and engineering in Pittsburgh,” and Jeremy and PQI succeeded in doing exactly that. 

This month, we are excited to announce that Adam Leibovich will serve as the new Director for a three-year term (renewable). 

His long experience leading and growing essential parts of the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, coupled with his extensive and successful research program, and his...

Ken Jordan elected to International Academy of Molecular Quantum Science

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 5 July 2022

Ken Jordan has been elected to the International Academy of Molecular Quantum Science. The IAQMS, headquartered in Menton, France, has inducted only 180 members in its 51-year history. Among them are pioneers of quantum theory and molecular quantum science and Nobel Prize winners, including Louis de Broglie, Kenichi Fukui, Gerhard Herzberg, Roald Hoffmann, Martin Karplus, Walter Kohn, William Lipscomb, Rudolph Marcus, Robert Mulliken, Linus Pauling, John Pople, John van Vleck, and Arieh Warshel.


Dickey Wins Sosman Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 21 June 2022

Elizabeth Dickey is the recipient of the 2023 Sosman Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in basic science that results in a significant impact and advancement in the field of ceramics. The Robert B. Sosman Award is the highest recognition of scientific accomplishment given by the Basic Science Division of ACerS and is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in basic science of an area that results in a significant impact to the field of ceramics. The award will be presented at a plenary lecture at MS&T in October.

Lillian Chong Receives NSF Characteristic Science Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 7 June 2022

Prof. Lillian Chong and collaborators, Dr. Arvind Ramanathan (Argonne National Lab) and Prof. Shantenu Jha (Rutgers University), have received one of 21 NSF "Characteristic Science Awards" (CSAs) from the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) to pursue a 'grand-challenge'-class science application for the upcoming Leadership Class Computing Facility (LCCF) at TACC.