Mukund Bapna Receives Graduate Student Research Award

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 19 June 2018

Mukund Bapna received the 2018 Guy C. Berry Graduate Student Research Award. He was presented with the prize at the Mellon College of Science Graduate Student Town Hall in April.

He was working under the supervision of Sara Majetich on magnetic tunnel junction nanopillars, nanostructures. 

Bapna received his Ph.D. in May and is now heading off to Portland, Oregon, to work for the research and development team at Intel.

There he will be developing smart interconnects for nodes under 20 nanometers in size for next-generation processors.

Jill Millstone Selected as the Kavli Emerging Leader Speaker for 2019

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 19 June 2018

The Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecture is awarded to an outstanding chemical scientist who is highly regarded by her or his peers for significant contributions to an area of chemistry or related multidisciplinary area of chemistry. 

Jill Millstone has been selected as the Kavli Emerging Leader Speaker for 2019. Her seminar will be on Monday, August 20 at the Boston ACS Meeting.


Topological Protection of Photonic Mid-Gap Defect Modes

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 12 June 2018

Kevin Chen and his colleagues have demonstrated in a proof-of-concept experiment that they can contain light in such a way that makes it highly insensitive to defects that might be present in a material.

"From the perspective of photonic engineers, this is a wonderful learning opportunity to see the connections between lightwave engineering at length scale of micrometers, and quantum mechanics that typically deals with electron waves at length scale 10,000 times smaller," noted Kevin P. Chen.

PQI Faculty Attended Intel ISEF 2018 Public Day

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 5 June 2018

PQI faculty Geoffrey Hutchison, Sangyeop Lee, and David Pekker represented PQI on Intel ISEF 2018 Public Day.

Intel ISEF Public Day is an outreach program where middle and high school students from Pennsylvania (grades 6-12) participates in a hands-on, interactive day celebrating science.

Geoffery Hutchison had a booth at this event where he showed how to visualize chemistry by using computational methods via smartphone technology.

Sangyeop Lee presented the concept of waste heat recovery in a workshop.

David Pekker gave a lecture on quantum computers. 

Venkat Viswanathan Received George Tallman Ladd Research Award

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 29 May 2018

The College of Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University has named this year’s faculty award winners, selected by the College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee. 

Venkat Viswanathan received George Tallman Ladd Research Award. 

This award is given to a faculty member within the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential.

Lillian Chong Focuses on Underexplored Regions

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 23 May 2018

Lilian Chong, the founder of Pitt’s Creative Science Writing Program, is leading a program on science and creativity along with Pitt English Instructor and award-winning poet, Sam Pittman.

In this program, they bring students from Chemistry and English together.

While she was demonstrating a simulation of molecules students work on poems describing molecular level emotions. 

Bradley Slezak Received His Ph.D. Degree 

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 8 May 2018

Bradley Slezak was a graduate student under the supervision of Wolfgang J. Choyke and Brian D'Urso.

This spring he has successfully passed his Ph.D. defense. On Thursday, April 26, 2018 he attended the commencement ceremony at the John M. and Gertrude E. Petersen Events Center to receive his degree.

His research involved measuring the decoherence rate of non-classical states of the trapped particle.

Congratulations Dr. Bradley Slezak !

Walter Klahold Received His PhD Degree

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 8 May 2018

Walter Klahold was a graduate student under the supervision of Wolfgang J. Choyke and Robert P. Devaty 

This spring he has successfully passed his Ph.D. defense. On Thursday, April 26, 2018, he attended the commencement ceremony  at the John M. and Gertrude E. Petersen Events Center to receive his degree.

His research involved energy level structure of free excitons in 4H SiC from wavelength modulated absorption spectroscopy and low-temperature photoluminescence.

Congratulations Dr. Walter Klahold !

Reeja Jayan was Recognized as an Innovator in 3D Printing by

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 8 May 2018

B. Reeja Jayan was recognized as an innovator in 3D printing by for her work in creating more efficient ceramic 3D printing techniques. The article, which highlighted Jayan’s recent receipt of a $500,000 NSF CAREER Award, focused on her research in using electromagnetic waves to manipulate ceramic structures. Her method could provide major energy savings in comparison to traditional heat firing, enabling the 3D printing of industrial-grade ceramics and greatly expanding their range of practical applications.

PQI2018 Poster Award Winners

  • By Leena Aggarwal
  • 7 May 2018

Every year, PQI organizes a signature event during April. PQI2018, the sixth event in the series, was held Wednesday through Friday April, 18-20 at the University Club. PQI2018 poster session was organized on Wednesday 18th April for PQI students and postdocs. 

This year more than 70 students, from different departments of University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University and Duquesne University, were participated in the PQI2018 poster session. PQI faculty members, previous years winners and postdocs were helped in judging the posters and giving the feedback to students.

Sergio de la Barrera (Hunt Lab, CMU) won the grand prize award ($1,000 travel award plus an iPad).

Vikesh Siddhu (Griffiths Lab, CMU), Vaidish Sumaria (Viswanathan Lab, CMU), Lu Chen (Levy Lab, Pitt),  Tzu-Chiao Chien (Hatridge Lab, Pitt), Corinn Durham (Chong Lab, Pitt) and Brandon Vernier (Evanseck Lab, Duquesne) won the poster awards ($1,000 travel award).

Megan Kirkendall Briggeman (Levy Lab, Pitt), Amy Carlson (Evanseck Lab, Duquesne), won the veteran award.