Sergey Frolov and Di Xiao Named 2016 Cottrell Scholar

  • By Aude Marjolin
  • 2 March 2016

PQI faculty Sergey Frolov and Di Xiao were among the 24 Cottrell Scholars for 2016. The announcement was made last week by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA), and the designation comes with a $100,000 award for each recipient for research and teaching.

"The Cottrell Scholar (CS) program champions the very best early career teacher-scholars in chemistry, physics and astronomy by providing these significant discretionary awards," said RCSA President and CEO Robert N. Shelton. Shelton added that the program is designed to foster synergy among faculty at major American research universities. 

"Outstanding candidates are admitted to the ranks of Cottrell Scholars through a stringent peer-review process based on their innovative research proposals and education programs," said RCSA Senior Program Director Silvia Ronco. 

This year’s Cottrell Scholars include two PQI members, Sergey Frolov and Di Xiao, whose proposals were Experimental Investigation of One-Dimensional Topological Phases and Topological Excitonics in Gapped Dirac Materials, respectively.

Read the full announcement here.