Jill E. Millstone is a recipient of the 2018 Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 14 February 2018

Jill E. Millstone has been selected to receive a 2018 Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award in the Junior Scholar category. Jill is recognized for her pioneering contributions in the area of synthesis and physical characterization of nanostructures, the quality of her scientific publications, the early recognition she has received from external organizations (which includes an Associate Editor position at ACS Nano) and for being an effective mentor to her graduate and post-doctoral trainees.

Congratulations Jill Millstone!

Geoff Hutchison wins 2018 Tina and David Bellet Excellence Award

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 7 February 2018

Geoff Hutchison is the 2018 Tina and David Bellet Excellence Awardee. The award recognizes his effectiveness and his innovations in teaching. Among many innovations Hutchinson developed Avagadro molecular editor; with that software, he designed projects hat allow Physical Chemistry students to perform quantum mechanical calculations to visualize results/concepts. 

Frolov and Team Featured on Pitt Website

  • By Burcu Ozden
  • 12 January 2018

PQI Members Sergey Frolov, David Pekker, Noa Marom, Michael Hatridge, Benjamin Hunt, and Hrvoje Petek featured on Pitt Website for their accomplisment on landing $4.8M award from National Science Foundation (NSF) for International Research and Education (PIRE) program.Sergey Frolov will be the Director of new PIRE.  Hrvoje Petek, Michael Hatridge and David Pekker are other PQI co-PIs for this project. The duration of the program is 5 years.

Alex Jones Receives Kaufman Foundation Grant Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 21 December 2022

Congratulations to Alex Jones, who recently received a Kaufman Foundation Grant award for his research project on quantum computer architecture. Established by chemical engineer and entrepreneur Charles E. Kaufman, the foundation supports fundamental scientific research in chemistry, biology and physics at institutions throughout Pennsylvania.

Dr. Chandralekha Singh Receives Dwight Nicholson Medal for Outreach

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 25 October 2022

Chandralekha Singh received the 2022 Dwight Nicholson Medal for Outreach, which recognizes the humanitarian aspect of physics and physicists created through public lectures and public media, teaching, research, or science related activities.

She earned the medal “for work in broadening access to physics through research into removing barriers to success in the field faced by marginalized groups and how to overcome them, and addressing those challenges directly through meaningful, research-based action."

George Klinzing Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from World Assembly of Particle Technology

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 18 October 2022

In recognition of contributions to particle technology research, the World Assembly of Particle Technology presented University of Pittsburgh Professor George A. Klinzing with its Lifetime Achievement Award at the Ninth World Congress on Particle Technology (WCPT) in Madrid, Spain. Klinzing, who is Emeritus Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering, was feted for “a lifetime of excellence in the field of particle technology.”

WPCT is the world’s major scientific congress for particle and bulk solids technology, an international forum for research, technological development...

Profs. Jennifer Laaser and Sean Garrett-Roe receive grant to develop new clean energy technologies

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 20 September 2022

A research team led by Profs. Jennifer Laaser and Sean Garrett-Roe from the Department of Chemistry and Prof. Clyde Daly from Haverford College have received an award from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to develop novel materials for carbon dioxide separation. The grant, titled “Mechanism of CO2 capture in ionic liquid composite materials,” was funded as part of the DOE’s...

Kevin Chen and Paul Ohondicki Win 2022 R&D 100 Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 29 August 2022

NuSense Technology — High Spatial Resolution Optical Sensors for Harsh Environments, an innovation developed through a collaboration between the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering with the U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Lab (NETL) as co-developer, was one of the recipients of the prestigious 2022 R&D 100 Award from R&D Magazine...

Dickey Wins Sosman Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 21 June 2022

Elizabeth Dickey is the recipient of the 2023 Sosman Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in basic science that results in a significant impact and advancement in the field of ceramics. The Robert B. Sosman Award is the highest recognition of scientific accomplishment given by the Basic Science Division of ACerS and is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in basic science of an area that results in a significant impact to the field of ceramics. The award will be presented at a plenary lecture at MS&T in October.