In the news

Chandralekha Singh Invited for Two Presentations at the 100th Birthday of International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 29 August 2022

Chandralekha Singh, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Director of the Discipline-Based Science Education Research Center (dB-SERC), was invited to present at the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Centennial Symposium at the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy in two different sessions that focused on Physics Education for the 21st Century and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Physics. The mission of IUPAP that celebrated its 100th birthday at the Centennial Symposium in Trieste is to assist in the worldwide development of physics and foster international cooperation in physics.

Dr. Hrvoje Petek Named Distinguished Scientist by the Chinese Academy of Sciences

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 19 July 2022

Congratulations to Hrvoje Petek, who has been named a Distinguished Scientist of the Chinese Academy of Sciences through its President’s International Fellowship Initiative!

The CAS President’s International Fellowship Initiative, PIFI, is a specific funding program to attract talented foreigners to CAS for scientific exchanges and research cooperation. It is open to scientific research personnel from around the globe, of the following seven types: Distinguished Scientists, Visiting Scientists, Postdoctoral Researchers, Special Experts, Young Staff, PHD Students, Master Students.

Ken Jordan elected to International Academy of Molecular Quantum Science

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 5 July 2022

Ken Jordan has been elected to the International Academy of Molecular Quantum Science. The IAQMS, headquartered in Menton, France, has inducted only 180 members in its 51-year history. Among them are pioneers of quantum theory and molecular quantum science and Nobel Prize winners, including Louis de Broglie, Kenichi Fukui, Gerhard Herzberg, Roald Hoffmann, Martin Karplus, Walter Kohn, William Lipscomb, Rudolph Marcus, Robert Mulliken, Linus Pauling, John Pople, John van Vleck, and Arieh Warshel.


Lillian Chong Receives NSF Characteristic Science Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 7 June 2022

Prof. Lillian Chong and collaborators, Dr. Arvind Ramanathan (Argonne National Lab) and Prof. Shantenu Jha (Rutgers University), have received one of 21 NSF "Characteristic Science Awards" (CSAs) from the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) to pursue a 'grand-challenge'-class science application for the upcoming Leadership Class Computing Facility (LCCF) at TACC.

Sparking Sustainable New Chemical Catalysts

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 25 May 2022

Engineers rely on catalysts for a vast array of applications from food manufacturing to chemical production, so finding efficient, environmentally friendly catalysts is an important avenue of research.

New research led by the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering could lead to the creation of new, sustainable catalysts based on tungsten oxide and similar compounds. . .

Laaser Wins 2022 Bellet Teaching Excellence Award

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 26 April 2022

Congratulations to Jennifer Laaser for receiving the 2022 Tina and David Bellet Teaching Excellence Award! 

Established in 1998, this annual award recognizes outstanding and innovative teaching in undergraduate studies in Pitt's Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. Each fall, students and faculty are encouraged to submit nominations to the associate dean for undergraduate studies. A committee reviews nominations and requests dossiers from eligible candidates. Honorees are announced in the spring, and award recipients each receive a one-time cash prize of $6,000.

Grad Students Win NSF Fellowship and Honorable Mention

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 5 April 2022

Congratulations to Boris Mesits who has won an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship! He is supported to work on ultrasensitive superconducting magnetometry and electron spin resonance in the laboratory of Michael Hatridge.  We'd also like to congratulate Evan McKinney, advised by Michael Hatridge and Alex Jones, who won honorable mention for his proposal on studying architectures for modular quantum computing with superconducting circuits.

Levy and Givi wins 2022 Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 15 March 2022

Congratulations to Jeremy Levy and Peyman Givi for receiving the 2022 Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring. 

The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring will annually recognize outstanding mentoring of graduate students seeking a research doctorate degree. Up to four awards will be made each year. . .

Want to promote diversity in science? Offer better support.

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 15 March 2022

Growing up in Patna, India, I imagined that there would be a better representation of women in physics in the United States. But after arriving at the University of California, Santa Barbara, to begin my graduate studies in 1988, I was sorely disappointed to learn that I was the only woman in a class of 36 PhD students.

The situation has improved marginally since then. In 2019, for example, women received 20% of both undergraduate and PhD degrees in physics in the . . .


van Stipdonk and Corcovilos Publishes in Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry

  • By Jennifer Zheng
  • 1 March 2022

Congratulations to Michael van Stipdonk, Theodore Corcovilos, and their research group for recently publishing their paper, "Intrinsic reactivity of [OUCH]+: Apparent synthesis of [OUS]+ by reaction with CS2" in Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry. Read the abstract below!