Skip to main content

International Conference on Reproducibility in Condensed Matter Physics

Supported by the National Science Foundation

The International Conference on Reproducibility in Condensed Matter Physics is open to those who have registered and been accepted, as well as faculty, postdocs, and students from the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University with valid ID.

Webinar Registration Link for the Conference sessions, morning Thursday and morning Friday:

More information on the Reproducibility and Integrity in Natural Sciences Discussion Panel is available here!

Scope of the conference:

  • Ongoing reproducibility efforts in experimental theoretical and computational condensed matter physics
  • Assessing the prevalence of unreliable research and ways to identify it
  • Examples of best reproducibility practices
  • Integrating reproducibility principles into education and training
  • Building up infrastructure to support reproducibility and open science
  • Developing advice on changes to publication and funding policy
  • Recognizing and rewarding reproducibility work and open science efforts


  • Sergio Tapias, SciPost
  • Jessica Thomas, American Physical Society
  • Igor Mazin, George Mason University
  • Karl Ziemelis, Nature Magazine, London, UK
  • Charles Gould, University of Wuerzburg, Germany
  • Laura Greene, Florida State University
  • James Hamlin, University of Florida
  • Frank Marsiglio, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Tomasz Durakiewicz, NSF
  • Beth Masimore, Office of Inspector General, NSF
  • Jelena Stajic, Science Magazine
  • Daniel Ucko, American Physical Society
  • Rocio Cortes, American Physical Society
  • Dan Dahlberg, University of Minnesota
  • Stuart Brown, UCLA
  • Rachel Kruchin, CMU
  • Eugenie Reich, Eugenie Reich Law LLC, Boston, MA
  • Vincent Mourik, FZ Juelich, Germany
  • Henry Legg, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Seth Putterman, UCLA
  • Justyna Zwolak, NIST

Thursday May 9

9:00am Welcome Remarks
Morning Session (Broadcast)
Chair: Seth Putterman (UCLA)
9:15am James Hamlin (University of Florida)
9:35am Stuart Brown (UCLA)
9:55am Charles Gould (University of Wurzburg)
10:15-11:00am Coffee Break
11:00am Henry Legg (Basel University)
11:20am Workgroups Set Up & Charge (Not Public)
12:20-2:00pm Lunch Break
Afternoon Session
2:00-4:00pm Workgroups
4:00pm Refreshments
4:30-5:30pm General Public Panel: Reproducibility and Integrity in Natural Sciences (Broadcast)
Moderator: Tomasz Durakiewicz, NSF

Laura Greene (FSU), Karl Ziemelis (Nature), Jelena Stajic (Science), Jessica Thomas (APS), Henry Legg (Basel)
6:30pm Conference Dinner (By Invitation)

Friday May 10

Morning Session (Broadcast)
Chair: Samaresh Guchhait (Howard University)
9:00am Sergio Tapias (SciPost)
9:20am Igor Mazin (George Mason University)
9:40am Vincent Mourik (FZ Juelich)
10:00am Eugenie Reich (Eugenie Reich Law, LLC)
10:30-11:00am Coffee Break & Book Signing by Reich
11:00am Beth Masimore (NSF)
11:30am Reproducibility Panel (Broadcast)
Moderator: Babak Seradjeh (Indiana University)

Beth Masimore (NSF), Frank Marsiglio (U. Alberta), Vincent Mourik (FZ Juelich), Justyna Zwolak (NIST), Dan Dahlberg (U. Minnesota)
12:30-2:00pm Lunch Break
Afternoon Session
2:00-5:00pm Workgroups
5:00pm Homework

Saturday May 11

Morning Session (Closed)
Chair: Sergey Frolov (University of Pittsburgh)
9:00-11:00am Workgroup Presentations
11:00-12:00pm Discussion
12:00pm Free

Organizing Committee:

  • Sergey Frolov, University of Pittsburgh (local organizer)
  • Ana Akrap, Fribourg University, Switzerland
  • Samaresh Guchhait, Howard University
  • Babak Seradjeh, Indiana University
  • Brian Skinner, Ohio State University

National Science Foundation Grant No DMR-2326983

Supported by the Pittsburgh Quantum Institute

Supported by the Julian Schwinger Foundation