Skip to main content


Hrvoje Petek
September 19, 2023

Hrvoje Petek Edits and Publishes in Progress in Surface Science's Latest Issue

Hrvoje Petek edited and published research in Progress in Surface Science, Volume 98, Issue 3.
W. Vincent Liu
September 17, 2023

W. Vincent Liu received $1.5 million from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research

W. Vincent Liu has been awarded $1.5 million from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research to develop models in orbital physics.
Peyman Givi
September 12, 2023

AIAA recognizes Pitt’s Peyman Givi with prestigious Dryden Lecture in Research award

For his contributions to the aerospace community, Peyman Givi was selected to present the prestigious 2024 Dryden Lecture in Research.
Quantum Op-ed
September 7, 2023

Congress must seize the opportunity to double down on quantum technology

Rob Cunningham and David Hickton wrote an op-ed for The Hill urging Congress to prioritize the renewal of the NQIA.
Nuclear power plants
August 30, 2023

Advancing Nuclear Energy Research

Though it may not be the first clean energy source to come to mind, nuclear energy— responsible for 8 percent of all U.S. energy consumption—is a zero-emission clean energy source that can produce more electricity on less land than other sources and produces minimal waste. The U.S.

Peng Liu and Binh Khanh Mai
August 8, 2023

A new chemical process makes it easier to craft amino acids that don’t exist in nature

A study published in Science by Peng Liu and team describes a powerful new way to create “unnatural” amino acids, which could find use in protein-based therapies and open up novel branches of organic chemistry.
JCTC cover image with atoms
August 8, 2023

Advancing Chemical Recycling of Waste Plastics

New research from the lab of Giannis Mpoumpakis was featured on the cover of the American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation.
Michael Hatridge
July 19, 2023

The Pittsburgh Quantum Institute appointed Michael Hatridge as its new director

Michael Hatridge has been named PQI's new director.
Two photons
July 11, 2023

Finding the Flux of Quantum Technology

Hong Koo Kim publishes a paper in Nanophotonics investigating the inside of a quantum-dot-based light emitter
Atreyie Ghosh
June 28, 2023

Distinguished student receives a distinguished scholarship

Atreyie Ghosh has been awarded the prestigious Kadanoff-Rice Postdoctoral Fellowship with Prof. Sarah King at the University of Chicago.
In-situ experimental STEM images and first-principles calculation prediction
June 28, 2023

Novel ferroelectrics for more efficient microelectronics

Elizabeth Dickey's recent publication in Science explores materials that are ferroelectric.
Chip on circuit board
June 13, 2023

Shining a Light on Neuromorphic Computing

Nathan Youngblood published a new paper on optical memristors in Nature Photonics.
Two quantum computer parts labeled "Hatlab"
June 13, 2023

Michael Hatridge earned $5.7 million in research funding from the U.S. Army

The U.S. Army has awarded more than $5.7 million for two projects led by Michael Hatridge.
pitt engineering
June 6, 2023

Postdoc Associate Position at Pitt

Position on Nonequilibrium Correlated Quantum Matter in Dr. Juan José Mendoza Arenas' group.
Pitt Logo
May 11, 2023

Pitt Physics & Astronomy Department Opening

Research Assistant Professor Position - Director of Quantum Infrastructure